Flourless Coconut and Lime Cake From Tanya Bakes

Hi everyone! Sorry for the lack of posting over the last few weeks..

Today is my Dad’s birthday, so a few weeks ago I asked him to have a look through my new cookbook, Tanya Bakes. The cookbook has tons of delish recipes so if you haven’t bought it already, I definitely reccomend buying a copy! In Australia you can but it at Dymocks and you can also order it off Amazon for worldwide delivery I think! 

Anyway, Dad chose the Flourless Coconut and Lime Cake, so yesterday I baked it. The method was so simple, and the cake tasted amazing, so I thought you guys might like to see the recipe:)
Ingredients:

150g unsalted butter, softened, plus extra for greasing

4 eggs

150g golden caster sugar**

150g ground almonds (almond meal)

100g desiccated coconut

zest and juice of 1 lime
For the topping:

200g icing sugar

zest and juice of 1 lime

a sprinkling of coconut flakes

smashed pistachios***
Method:

Preheat the oven to 180C/GM 4/350F. Grease and line a 21cm**** round deep loose-bottomed cake tin with greaseproof  paper.

Cream together the butter and eggs until light and fluffy*****. Add the sugar, ground almonds, desiccated coconut, lime juice and zest. 

Pour into the cake tin and bake for 35-40 minutes until cooked through.  Cool in the tin and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

For the topping, mix the icing sugar with the lime juice and zest – add a tiny bit of water if it’s looking too thick. Pour this onto the cooled cake and sprinkle over the coconut flakes and any leftover zest to decorate.

** You can’t buy golden caster sugar in Italy so I used normal caster sugar and it worked fine

*** Tanya says to use coconut flakes and extra lime zest to decorate, my Dad asked if could use pistachios instead of coconut and lime so I used that

**** I couldn’t find a 21cm cake tin so I just used a 20cm

***** The eggs and butter didn’t blend Greta with each other but I cream them together until they were nearly smooth, it looked a bit curdled before adding the other ingredients though

I hope you enjoyed reading today’s post! Let me know in the comments if you make the cake:)

(Just a short note to say that I don’t own the recipe, it belongs to Tanya Burr and I’m not using her book to make money or make it look like it’s my own recipe)

8 thoughts on “Flourless Coconut and Lime Cake From Tanya Bakes

Leave a Reply

