Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Book Review

(Possible Spoilers)

Hi everyone! 

As you might of seen in my last post, I’m going to be reviewing the three books I bought in Milan. As I’m writing this, I’ve only read the new Harry Potter so I’ll review that today:) Enjoy!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Authors: J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tifany

Length of Book: 330 pages

I personally really enjoyed reading this. I think I finished it so quickly because it is in script form, which I didn’t mind, but the first few pages (or should I say scenes) were a little bit difficult to get my head around. The book itself was not what I expected. I was a little lost in a few parts, but once I’d finished it I understood it all. The book includes time travelling, and a lot of mixed emotions, especially from Albus Potter and Harry Potter. Albus gets sorted into Slytherin, which I already knew because Maddie my friend had told me. At the beginning I don’t think Albus wants to accept it but in the end he accepted it and was happy with who he was. Voldemort himself is not exactly part of the book but a close relative plays a major part, and she is bad, but pretends to be good, well in some parts anyway.  The scariest part is that Voldemort, has a daughter (who is the close relative I was talking about earlier), she was born before the Battle of Hogwarts to Bellatrix Lestrange. Bellatrix’s husband then leaves Azkaban Prison and explains what he thinks is the prophecy to Voldemort’s daughter. That and another reason which I won’t mention here is why she meddles with time and attempts to do awful things to Albus, Scorpius their parents and extended families.. The story in a lot of ways is based around Scorpius Malfoy, and Albus Potter. Albus has always put up a shield, and so has Harry, between them, but in the end they find out they’re actually very, very alike. Scorpius is Draco’s son, Draco married a woman (I think her name is Astonia or something similar) but she died from what I understand from a terminal illness or mental health issues. Therefore, Scorpius becomes everything to Draco. Draco is not bad, and does not wish that Lord Voldemort returns, he explains how he always felt so lonely as a child, almost sheltered off. He and Harry, in the end, also become friendly with each other which is nice. I definitely reccomend this to all Potterheads, and Muggles or Mudbloods, but if you haven’t read the original series yet I suggest reading that before you start this! 
I hope you found my review helpful and entertaining! I definitely enjoyed writing it:)
Lucia, x.

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Book Review

Leave a Reply

